Add Users
Add the people required to run your operation, such as requesters, field workers, coordinators, or admins, who belong to your organization.
To add users:
- Click on the desired hub
- Ensure Users is selected
- Click New
- Enter their Name, Email, Phone (optional), Default Team (optional)
- Select the appropriate role the user will have within the platform — each role can be configured using toggles to set the exact permissions you want (More about Roles)
- Add Attributes, if applicable
- Click Save
Users added to IronSight will receive a welcome email instructing them to set a password and log in:
- Dispatchers and admins log into Dispatch Hub
- Operators and requesters download the IronSight mobile app
Once you’ve added at least one user with the Requester role, and one user with the Operator role, move on to the next step to tie everything together.
IronSight has 3 key roles, each with different permissions. Here's a quick comparison, followed by the full toggle details for each role below.
At a glance:
A few things worth knowing about each role:
- Admin can do everything, including managing users and resources in the Admin Portal, and can complete work as a field worker if the Execute Work toggle is on for them.
- Coordinator cannot manage users/resources or anything accessed in the Admin Portal, but can assign jobs to their own team, review form submissions, and see/add rates on jobs.
- Field Worker can only see jobs assigned to their resource, or to their resource and their user account (if dispatching uses both fields). They cannot see jobs assigned to other field workers, cannot see rates on line items, can only see their own form responses, and cannot access Map view on desktop. If the Requester toggle is on, a Field Worker can request their own jobs — this toggle also allows them to be added as a follower, so they can see other jobs that aren't directly assigned to them.
Admin Role Toggles:
- Manage organization — Grants access to the Admin Portal to manage users, resources, locations, and other account-level data.
- Request & dispatch jobs — Allows the user to create new jobs and assign them to companies or resources.
- Submit & review forms — Allows the user to fill out job/location forms and review form submissions from others.
- View line item rates — Allows the user to see pricing/rate information on job line items.
- Execute jobs (Optional) — Allows the user to complete work as a field worker (start, confirm stops, complete jobs) in addition to their admin permissions.
- View analytics (Optional) — Grants access to analytics dashboards and reporting.
Updated Coordinator toggle list:
- Dispatch jobs — Allows the user to assign jobs to companies or resources within their team. Turning this off automatically turns on Review forms — turning Dispatch jobs back on does not turn Review forms back off.
- Request jobs — Allows the user to create new jobs.
- Execute jobs (Optional) — Allows the user to complete work as a field worker (start, confirm stops, complete jobs) in addition to their coordinator permissions.
- Review forms — Allows the user to review form submissions from others. This automatically turns on if Dispatch jobs is turned off, and stays on even if Dispatch jobs is later re-enabled.
- View line item rates — Controls whether the user can see unit rates, subtotals, and totals on job line items. For SPs using QBO, this also affects sync capability — see [Apps & Integrations] for details.
- Submit forms — Allows the user to fill out job/location forms.
- View analytics (Optional) — Grants access to analytics dashboards and reporting.
Field Worker Role Toggles:
- Execute jobs (Default: On) — Allows the user to complete work in the field (start jobs, confirm stops, complete jobs). This is the core toggle that makes someone a functioning Field Worker.
- Request jobs (Optional) — Allows the user to create/request their own jobs.
- Assign job to company (Optional) — Allows the user to assign a job directly to a company. Not available on Admin or Coordinator roles.
- Submit forms — Allows the user to fill out job/location forms.
- View line item rates (Optional) — Controls whether the user can see unit rates, subtotals, and totals on job line items. For SPs using QBO, this also affects sync capability — see [Apps & Integrations] for details.
Archiving & Unarchiving Users
IronSight also allows you to update a user's information or remove their access to the platform when needed.
To archive a user:
- Visit the Users tab and click on the name of the user you'd like to update or remove
- Update the information and click Save, or click Archive (bottom left) and confirm OK on the warning prompt
To unarchive a user:
- Click the Archived tab (next to Active, at the top of the Users list)
- Click on the name of the user you'd like to unarchiveHave questions?
Once unarchived, they'll be available to assign to jobs again.
📌 Note: To add users to a Managed Company (your Service Providers), you'll do this from within that company's record under Connections, not from your own Users tab. See the Manage Connections section for details.
Contact us at [support@ironsight.app] and we'll help you out.
Let's set up Locations!